Daylight saving time in Montana will begin at 2:00 a.m. on Sunday, March 14. Montana is currently in standard time, but on Sunday, remember to spring forward.

Essentially, we're losing an hour that we won't get back until we "fall back" in November. We always "Spring Forward" in the Spring, and "Fall Back" in the Fall.


According to NASA, Benjamin Franklin is credited with the concept of Daylight Saving Time.

In 1966, President Lyndon Johnson signed an act into law whereby Daylight Saving Time begins on the last Sunday of April and ends on the last Sunday of October each year. However, any State can opt out of Daylight Saving Time by passing a State law.

Hawaii does not observe Daylight Saving Time and neither does Arizona (although the Navajo Nation, in northeastern Arizona, does). For many years, most of Indiana did not observe Daylight Saving Time with the exception of 10 counties. Beginning in 2006, all of Indiana now observes Daylight Saving Time.

In 2005, President Bush signed into law a new energy policy bill that would extend Daylight Saving Time by 4 weeks beginning in 2007:

  • Daylight Saving Time begins at 2:00 a.m. on the second Sunday of March
  • Daylight Saving Time ends at 2:00 a.m. on the first Sunday of November

Moving our clocks ahead one hour is a great reminder that spring is right around the corner and we'll be able to enjoy longer days in the summer before we know it.

For more information about the origin of Daylight Saving Time, click here.

Five Must-See Montana Travel Destinations For 2021

More From My 103.5 FM